FutureFirm 1.0

April 18-19, 2009
Indiana University Maurer School of Law

The large U.S. law firm is under tremendous pressure from clients, associates, and the competition for -- and sometimes among -- partners. These pressures are exacerbated by a business model that has remained essentially unchanged for nearly 100 years. Is it possible for large corporate firms to thrive without rethinking their business model? The organizers of FutureFirm want to find out.

FutureFirm is a game of strategy, skill, and endurance. The goal of the game is to craft a new law firm business model that is likely to survive and thrive 20 years into the future. The event will include ten teams of four players each, representing in-house lawyers/general counsel, law firm partners and managers, or associates/law students. Winners will be named by a 12 to 15-person Judging Panel. Hildebrandt is a generous sponsor of FutureFirm 1.0, donating prize monies for the winning team(s) as well as the valuable services of its legal consultants.

FutureFirm Rules and Problem

More Resources for the Game

Conference Schedule

Friday, April 17, 2009
7:00 pm

Casual dinner with a presentation by Bill Henderson

Michael’s Uptown Café

Saturday, April 18, 2009
8 - 8:30 am
1st Floor Lobby

Breakfast Selections

8:30 - 9
Moot Court Room

Welcome and Instructions

9 - 10:30
Moot Court Room

Baseline Workshop (Judges only)

9 - 1 pm
214, 215, 216, 335

Team Retreat

10 - 11
1st floor lobby

Refreshment available

11 - 1 pm
Moot Court Room

Judges' Retreat

1 - 2:15
Faculty Lounge


2:15 - 3:45 pm
214, 215, 216, 335

Team preparation for final presentations

2:45 - 3:45 pm
Moot Court Room

Judges’ preparation of judging parameters and Sunday comments

3:45 - 4
1st floor lobby

Refreshment break

4 - 6
Moot Court Room

Final Team Presentations

1st floor lobby

Meet to walk to IMU (optional)

6:15 - 7

Cocktail Reception

Indiana Memorial Union (IMU) Federal Room Parlor

7 - 9

Working Dinner

IMU Federal Room

Sunday, April 19, 2009
8 am

Coffee and pastries available

IMU Frangipani Room

9 - 10:30

Team Rejoinders and Judges' Commentary

IMU Frangipani Room

10:30 - 11:30

Brunch (team members)

IMU Coronation Room

10:30 - 11:30

Brunch (judges deliberate)

IMU Georgian Room


Announcement of Winners

IMU Frangipani Room


Hildebrandt Consultants

Joe Altonji
Mike Short
Carla Landry
John Childers

Judging Panel

Anthony E. Davis
Hinshaw & Culbertson LLP
Gillian Hadfield
Richard L. and Antoinette S. Kirtland Professor of Law and Professor of Economics
University of Southern California Gould School of Law
Pamela Jarvis
Gregory P Joseph Law Offices LLC
Kimberly Kirkland
Professor of Law
Franklin Pierce Law Center
Jeffrey T. Kraus
Vice President and Loss Prevention Counsel
ALAS, Inc.
Peter Krupp
Partner, Skadden, Arps
Paul Lippe
Founder & CEO
Legal OnRamp
Paul McDonald
Senior Counsel
Kraft, Inc.
Casey Plant
Indiana University Maurer School of Law
Mitt Regan
Professor of Law
Georgetown Law Center
Lauren Stiller Rikleen
Bowditch & Dewey, LLP
Executive Director, Bowditch Institute for Women's Success
Mike Roster
Chair, ACC Value Challenge
Former General Counsel
Stanford University
Milt Stewart
Davis Wright Tremaine


Stephanie Bisselberg
Labor Counsel, AK Steel Corporation
Allyson Bouldon
President-Elect, Association of Corporate Counsel - Chicago
Former General Counsel, Tegrant Corporation
Heath Dixon
Attorney, Legal Affairs, Electronic Data Systems Corp.
W. Brian Edge
Director, Legal Affairs, Discovery Communications
Scott Flanders
CEO, Freedom Communications
Steve Harmon
Director, Legal Services, Cisco
Wayne Harris
Association of Corporate Counsel - Indianapolis
Chief Counsel, Ace Power Marketing
Brendan Healey
Senior Counsel, Tribune Corp.
Bill Hunt
Principal, Hunt Capital Partners, LLC
Patrick McGowan
Corporate Internal Audit - Compliance, Pfizer
Bruce Melton
Associate General Counsel, University of Chicago
Bruce Rasche
Deputy General Counsel, FirstGroup America


Nicole Auerbach
Valorem Law Group
Bryan Babb
Bose, McKinney & Evans
David Baffa
Seyfarth Shaw LLP
John Chun
Summit Law Group
Steve Crawford
Frost Brown Todd
Patricia Gillette
Darrick Hooker
Jenner & Block
Joe Humke
Lindquist & Vennum
Marty Klaper
Ice Miller (retired)
Patrick Lamb
Valorem Law Group
Sonia Miller-Van Oort
Flynn Gaskins & Bennett, LLP
Chad Mitchell
Summit Law Group
Ameek Ponda
Sullivan & Worcester
Edwin Reeser
Edwin B. Reeser PC
Former Managing Partner
Sonnenschein Nath & Rosenthal LLP
Jackie Simmons
Baker & Daniels LLP
John Steele
Principal, Steele Law
Former Special Counsel and Director of Ethics & Conflicts, Fish & Richardson
Former Partner, Fenwick & West

Associates and Students

Khalil AbuGharbieh
University of California Boalt Hall
Brigette Brennan
University of Southern California Gould School of Law
Katherine Jones
University of Southern California Gould School of Law
Lutfi Kharuf
University of Southern California Gould School of Law
Tonio DeSorrento
Ross Eberly
Indiana University Maurer School of Law
Mark Horvick
Kirkland & Ellis
Anna T. Mayer
Jones Day
Matt Scherer-Smith
Georgetown Law Center
Megan Vetula
Georgetown Law Center
Joe Williams
Columbia University Law School
Corey Zarse
Vedder Price